Appspace will send email alerts to a list of users in the event of media player failures, communication loss or errors during content download and syncing.
When a failure is detected and no response is made within 15 minutes, a failure alert email will be sent to the user list. The system will continue to monitor the media player and if the failure persists, email alerts will be sent in 15 minute, 45 minute, 1 hour, 3 hour, 6 hour, and 24 hour intervals.
There are two types of player failure:
- Communication Lost – This indicates that the player has lost network connection with the server. The player will still be playing the application but any updates made will not be received.
- Failed – This status requires urgent attention as it may be critical failures which could result in application not being displayed on screen. This could be caused by a number of reasons such as power or hardware failure on site.
This article provides the instructions to add, edit, and manage your network notifications within Networks.
- Creating a Network Notification
- Changing the Time Zone for a Network Notification
- Removing a Network Notification
Creating a Network Notification
In Networks, click the Notifications sub-tab and click the Add button or the Create a New Notification link.
Select the notification type. Live Alert notifications trigger immediately after an event happens (e.g. player loses communication or fails), while Summary notifications provide you with a timely report of your network status.
Live Alert notifications only allow you to configure the trigger window and timezone.
Should you select Summary as your notification type, you’ll be able to set the report recurrence.
Give the notification a name and select the network to monitor.
Enforcing the time zone configuration forces the notification pushed to the recipients to be based on the trigger time zone.
Search for a user to add to the recipient list. A drop-down list will display users based on your search keyword. Click the + button to add the user to the recipient list.
You are able to remove or change the time zone settings for each recipient in this list by selecting the user and clicking the delete or clock button.