Advanced Channel Content Permissions & Content Approval

Appspace provides a simple workflow for content allocation and approval, where all content allocation must be approved by the Publisher before it can be published.

This article provides information on the content approval process and instructions to configure advanced channel permissions.

Content Approval Process

The content approval process allows Publishers to configure user access to content and widgets within an advanced channel.

A standard user can allocate content to an advanced channel in their network, but a Publisher must approve the content allocation before it can be played by the devices. Publishers will be able to review the content approval requests, and choose to approve or deny the content allocation. Only once the allocation is approved, the content is published to devices. This also allows organizations to set up multiple users with specific content management roles for an advanced channel.

Content that has been approved will always remain approved, even if minor edits are made to the content. Similarly, when a content approval is declined by the Publisher, the content will remain declined. If the user wishes to reuse the declined content, the user must re-upload the content as a new content, and seek approval again. The user cannot edit a rejected content and request for approval.

The approval workflow focuses on the approval of the physical content item, thus changes to metadata such as content properties, will not trigger the content approval process.

User Roles for Managing an Advanced Channel

The following are the default roles in Advanced Channel:

  • Restricted Access – This permission restricts the user from having any access to the advanced channel unless a permission is explicitly granted to a widget.
  • Manage Content – This permission allows a user to have access to the selected advanced channel’s content items only.
  • Manage Schedule – This permission allows a user to have access to the selected advanced channel’s content items and its schedules.
  • Manage Sign – This permission allows a user to have full access to the selected advanced channel.

When users with restricted access login to Appspace, they will have limited view of the features in Appspace. They will only be able to view and edit the advanced channel and widgets to which they have been granted access to, based on the user role assigned to them.

Restricted users can upload new content to widgets, however, content allocations are placed in Pending until approved by the Publisher.

Approval via the Dashboard

When the Publisher logs in to Appspace, a notification will appear under the Content Approvals widget on the dashboard informing them of content approval requests.

Publishers can simply click on the widget to review the content in the pending state, and decide to approve or decline the content from the links provided.

Approval via Email

Publishers also have the option to set content allocation notifications via email for approval. The configuration is set on a per-app basis.

In an advanced channel, go to the Settings tab. Locate the Approval Notification option and check the ‘Enable – I want to receive email notification for content approval.’ check box to activate email-based content approval notification.

A notification email will be sent to the Publishers allowing them to review the content and directly approve or decline it from the email itself.

Configure Advanced Channel Permissions

To configure advanced channel permissions, please follow the instructions below:

  1. Click Channels from the Appspace Menu navigation bar.

  2. Select the desired advanced channel from the Channels tab.

  3. Click the Settings tab, and click the Permissions page.

  4. Select the user to apply the content approval workflow, and select the appropriate permission level from the drop-down menu.

    Note

    Set the permission of the user to Restricted Access to ensure that any content allocation by the user goes through the content approval workflow.

    • Manage Sign – The user will have full access to the selected advanced channel.
    • Manage Schedule – The user will be allowed to manage only the advanced channel’s content and its schedules.
    • Manage Content – The user will be allowed to manage the advanced channel’s content.
    • Restricted Access – The user will not have access to this advanced channel unless permissions are explicitly granted to a widget.
  5. User access can also be configured on a per-widget basis, by selecting the Widget option from the View by drop-down menu. The permissions matrix is color coded for easy identification of each permission level.

  6. Select a user with Restricted Access, and click the + symbol icon in the corresponding cell of the widget.

  7. Select the appropriate permissions for the widget, and click OK.

Related Articles
Browse By Category