Publish Channels to Web, Devices, or Users

This article provides instructions to publish channels to the web, users, and to devices (TVs, tablets, Webex boards, etc.).

  • When a channel is published to the web, a public link to the channel is accessible by anyone via a browser. Users do not need an Appspace account to view the channels. This method is recommended for quickly sharing content with remote workers or clients, or can be used for demo purposes. Channels viewed via the web link will be streamed, incurring bandwidth overhead, and thus we recommend using this option prudently.
  • A user with an Appspace registered account will be able to view channels published to them via smartphones and tablets as they sign in with their user accounts, where one Appspace Premium User ID is consumed for each user. Users can browse all content from multiple channels and channel groups published to them.
  • Similarly, a device registered and installed with the Appspace App, which consumes one Appspace Device ID, will display all channels published to the device. A device will be able to play a single channel only, or multiple channels and channel groups where audiences may use a remote control or touch screen (where applicable) to browse multiple channel content.

What’s in this article:

Prerequisites

Publish Channel to Web

Follow the instructions below to publish a channel to the web, makes the channel viewable to the public through a URL on a browser:

  1. Log in to the Appspace console.
  2. Navigate to Channels from the Appspace menu, and select the desired channel you wish to publish.
  3. Select the Publish tab, and click the Web sub-tab.
  4. Click the Publish to the Web button. 
  5. Click the Copy button of either URL Link or Embed code.
  6. If you chose:
    • Link: Share the link, or paste the link on a browser to view the channel.
    • Embed: Insert the iFrame code into an existing HTML page, for easy viewing in an intranet.
       
  7. Your channel is ready for public access. Anyone with the URL may view the channels.
  8. Once the channel is no longer needed to be publicly available, you may click on the Stop Publishing button to stop sharing, and to save bandwidth utilization. 

Publish Channel to Device

Follow the instructions below to publish a channel to individual devices, device groups, or devices in an entire network, so that only devices registered with the Appspace App will be able to display the  published channel:

  1. Log in to the Appspace console.
  2. Navigate to Channels from the Appspace menu, and select the desired channel you wish to publish.
  3. Click the Publish tab, and click the Devices sub-tab.
  4. Type a device name, or click the Find Devices link to select individual devices, device groups, or networks. Click Add.
    Alternately, you can publish the channel to all networks, by checking the Publish to network and subnetworks checkbox. Click the Publish to All button for confirmation.
  5. The channel will be published to the selected devices, device groups, and networks, and will now be displayed on the selected device(s).

Note
If the channel or channel playlist belongs to any channel group that is published, the channel or channel playlist automatically inherits the publishing settings from the channel group. However, you may still assign additional users, user groups, networks, devices, and device groups.

If you wish to disable the inherited settings, slide the slider to NO.

Publish Channel to Users

Follow the instructions below to publish a channel to users, so that only registered Appspace users would be able to browse and view the channel, either from a web browser or via the Appspace App user mode on a smartphone or tablet: 

  1. Log in to the Appspace console.
  2. Navigate to Channels from the Appspace menu, and select the desired channel you wish to publish.
  3. Click the Publish tab, and click the Users sub-tab.
  4. Enter in, or click the Find Users link to select individual users or user groups. Click Add.
    Alternately, you can publish the channel to all users, by checking the Publish to all users checkbox. Click the Publish to All button for confirmation.
  5. The channel will be published to the selected users and user groups.
  6. Users may browse their content.

Note
If the channel or channel playlist belongs to any channel group that is published, the channel or channel playlist automatically inherits the publishing settings from the channel group. However, you may still assign additional users, user groups, networks, devices, and device groups.

If you wish to disable the inherited settings, slide the slider to NO.